Jesus is my only confidence

🛐 Daily Prayer: "I come again; I rely on nothing but your merit; nothing but your love is my confidence; I give myself up to you; take me as I am, and wash me clean."

Pray with Spurgeon

Daily Newsletter from SpurgeonBooks

Thanks for praying with us this week! (Don’t miss the weekend edition tomorrow!)

DAILY PRAYER (BY SPURGEON)

Lord, do you wash my feet? Then I will come to you; I will come with my feet all filthy if there is such a bath as this to be washed in. If my sins are returned to me, and appear to remain upon my conscience, if you still wait to wash me from present guilt and present depravity, then here I am—as at the first I came, I come again; I rely on nothing but your merit; nothing but your love is my confidence; I give myself up to you; take me as I am, and wash me clean.

Amen.

VERSE OF THE DAY (COMMENTARY BY SPURGEON)

“Simon Peter said to him, ‘Lord, not only my feet, but also my hands and my head.’ ‘One who has bathed,’ Jesus told him, ‘doesn’t need to wash anything except his feet, but he is completely clean.’” (John 13:9–10)

Come, then, you that feel you have been sinning the last week—you that are God’s people, you that are resting on Christ, but have a sense of guilt upon your consciences, and cannot get rid of it, and are sighing and crying, do ask this question, “Do you wash my feet?” I say it is a subject for admiration, how thoroughly clean Christ does wash his people, so that they can really cry, “There is no spot or wrinkle, or any such thing, even upon my feet; I shall be presented holy and blameless in the sight of God through Jesus Christ my Lord.”

RECOMMENDED RESOURCE

Have a Fresh Encounter with the Shocking Grace of Jesus

This week, we’ve been reflecting on Jesus’ incredible love, shown in his willingness to wash our feet. I hope these prayers and devotionals have renewed your wonder at the incredible love of Jesus.

For another great resource to help you re-realize how surprising Jesus is, check out Confronting Jesus: 9 Encounters with the Hero of the Gospels by Rebecca McLaughlin. This book will help you see the glories and compassion of Jesus with renewed clarity by highlighting stories about his life from the New Testament. This book is like a 3–D, full-color picture of Jesus, putting his character and kindness on full display. I hope you will grab a copy, because I know it will increase your joy in him.