God hears us before we call

🛐 Daily Prayer: "We thank you, Lord, that we have not only found benefit in prayer, but in the answers to it we have been greatly enriched."

Pray with Spurgeon

Daily Newsletter from SpurgeonBooks

DAILY PRAYER (BY SPURGEON)

We thank you, Lord, that we have not only found benefit in prayer, but in the answers to it we have been greatly enriched. You have opened your hidden treasures at the voice of prayer; you have supplied our necessities as soon as we cried out to you; yes, we have found it true: “Even before they call, I will answer; while they are still speaking, I will hear.”

Amen.

VERSE OF THE DAY (COMMENTARY BY SPURGEON)

“Even before they call, I will answer; while they are still speaking, I will hear.” (Isaiah 65:24)

Quick work, this! The Lord hears us before we call, and often answers us in the same speedy manner. Foreseeing our needs, and our prayers, he so arranges providence that before the need actually arises he has supplied it, before the trial assails us he has armed us against it. This is the promptness of omniscience, and we have often seen it exercised. Before we dreamed of the affliction which was coming, the strong consolation which was to sustain us under it had arrived. What a prayer-answering God we have!

RECOMMENDED RESOURCE

Praying for your kids’ salvation? Trust God to answer

As a dad, my greatest desire is that my kids would trust in Christ and be saved. I trust God to answer that prayer, but I also know that he’s going to save my kids in the same way he’s saved anyone else throughout history — through his Word.

If you want your kids to encounter the Lord and trust him with all of their hearts, you need to show them the Lord in his Word. You need to expose them to the whole Bible in a way that is meaningful.

That’s why I created God Centered Family — a series of family devotionals that gives you everything you need to lead your kids to be lifelong followers of Jesus.

I hope you’ll check out this resource and subscribe today.