God can use weak sinners

🛐 Daily Prayer: "Oh God, help us. We are very weak. If we get a little strength, it only adds to our weakness."

Pray with Spurgeon

Daily Newsletter from SpurgeonBooks

DAILY PRAYER (BY SPURGEON)

Oh God, help us. We are very weak. If we get a little strength, it only adds to our weakness. We grow more and more dependent upon an almighty arm. If we did not have God, we would have nothing. Bless your servants who preach the gospel. May they never dream that they can save a soul. May they leave salvation with the savior whose work it is. May we be instruments in the hands of God, and be content to give him all the praise when we have the largest success.

Amen.

VERSE OF THE DAY (COMMENTARY BY SPURGEON)

“So I take pleasure in weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and in difficulties, for the sake of Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:10)

Let us pick up our tools and go to our work rejoicing, feeling, “Well, I may be weaker, or I may be stronger in myself, but my strength is in my God.” If I should ever become stronger, then I must pray for a deeper sense of weakness, lest I become weak through my strength. And if I should ever become weaker than I am, then I must hope and believe that I am really becoming stronger in the Lord. Whether I am weak or strong, what does it matter? He who never fails and never changes, will perfect his strength in my weakness, and this is glory to me.

PRAY FOR THE NATIONS (NEW FEATURE)

This week, we’re praying for the Grangali of Afghanistan.

Grangali men are exploited in illegal mining operations. Independent entrepreneurs are making millions, but don’t pay Grangali laborers fairly.

Pray that justice would come for those who would seek to exploit the poor.

RECOMMENDED RESOURCE

Enter to win: Free seven-volume set on the Gospels*

I’ve shared several times already about 10ofThose’s recent updating of JC Ryle’s classic series, “Expository Thoughts on the Four Gospels.”

For new subscribers, this is a classic series on Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John — but you can enter to win this updated set in a free giveaway.

10ofThose produced this series and is running this giveaway because they believe in the power of God’s Word and the power of Ryle’s “Thoughts.”

This is a really powerful series that will be invaluable for devotional reading, personal study, or sermon prep.

(Everyone who enters will also receive a coupon for 50% off the complete set.)