Deliver us from evil

🛐 Daily Prayer: "Make our nature so clean that temptation cannot defile it. May our course be very clean, our path be very straight; may we keep our garments unspotted from the world"

Pray with Spurgeon

Daily Newsletter from SpurgeonBooks

Thanks for praying with us this week! (Don’t miss the weekend edition tomorrow!)

DAILY PRAYER (BY SPURGEON)

We wish especially that in the hearts of your own there may be an intense love for you and a perfect obedience to you. Grant this to each one of us. We would each pray, “Lord, sanctify me; make me obedient; write your law upon my heart and upon my mind.” Make our nature so clean that temptation cannot defile it. May our course be very clean, our path be very straight; may we keep our garments unspotted from the world; and in thought and desire and imagination, in will and in purpose, may we be holy as God is holy.

Amen.

VERSE OF THE DAY (COMMENTARY BY SPURGEON)

“And do not bring us into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.” (Matthew 6:13)

If I must be tried, Lord, deliver me from falling into evil, and especially preserve me from that evil one, who, above all, seeks my soul, to destroy it. Temptation or trial may be for my good, if I am delivered from evil. Lord, do this for me, for I cannot preserve myself.

RECOMMENDED RESOURCE

A Book to Help Kids Understand God’s Forgiveness

Today we prayed, asking God to deliver us from evil, including the evil inside of us. Even though we sin, we don’t have to hide from God — his grace is enough to cover our sins.

Recently, my family has been loving a new kids’ book by Melissa Kruger, His Grace is Enough: How God Makes it Right When We’ve Got it Wrong. This book unpacks this crucial message of God’s grace and invites our sinful children to run towards God, not away from him.

His Grace is Enough invites children to know and rest in the sin-forgiving love of God, shown in Christ. It’s a serious, wonderful, joy-filled message, but the book is really fun, with engaging illustrations that help kids understand the message.

If you have preschoolers in your life, I know you’ll want to buy a copy (or two, to use as gifts!) — I hope you’ll add it to your family’s library today.